5 days of food.

When I tell people I eat paleo 80-90% of the time, I am usually asked what exactly do I eat. Pictures sometimes speak louder than words so I decided to document 5 days of food. I did this two weeks ago in preparation for our beach vacation. I knew that I wasn’t going to eat clean the entire trip so I really made an effort to do it beforehand so I would go into it feeling really good and the temptations wouldn’t be as great. I have to say that it worked! I had a couple of roasted marshmallows, a few cookies and quite a few beers on the beach. Being on sugar white sand and not drinking a Corona with lots of lime would be nearly impossible for me.

Alright – so back to the food. As you will see, if I find something I like, I eat it all the time. Here’s 5 days of tasty food!

Friday Breakfast: I pretty much have this every day for breakfast. My mornings start at 4:15 and I don’t have a chance to sit down and eat until after 7:30 so this is a great way to start the day. Fill your cup up about halfway with UNSWEETENED coconut milk. Microwave it for 30 seconds. Pour it in the shaker and add one scoop of protein powder. Shake like crazy. Pour into your coffee cup and fill the rest with coffee. It’s like a latte but much healthier! A fun coffee cup is also a must.

 

Friday Post Workout/Late Breakfast: It’s really important to get some protein in you within 30 minutes of working out. This helps rebuild your muscles and for me, it helps regulate my blood sugar. If I wait too long to eat, I’m left with a raging headache. Here we have a hard boiled egg with sea salt, pepper and Central Market Organics ketchup. Sounds crazy but it is so good. Half an avocado and one link of nitrate free chicken and apple sausage. This is a great combination of protein and good fat sources.

 

Friday Lunch: We had grass-fed burgers for dinner on Thursday and I had one left over. Lucky me! Lunch was mixed greens, cucumbers, red bell peppers, black olives, crumbled burger and feta cheese. Dressing was olive oil and vinegar. Tasty!

 

Friday Dinner: Green night! Costco has this awesome frozen basil pesto Talapia which is super easy to make. It goes straight from the freezer to the oven and you have fish in 14 minutes. Steamed broccoli and organic frozen green beans tossed with butter and sea salt.

 

Saturday Early Breakfast: Protein powder and coffee.

Saturday Late Post Workout Breakfast: Half an avocado, nitrate free chicken and apple sausage and organic grapes.

 

Saturday Lunch: Mixed greens with cucumbers, carrots, black olives and nitrate free turkey lunch meat. Olive oil and vinegar dressing.

 

Saturday Snack: I know, I know – popcorn? Really? I know it’s a grain and corn is bad for you but I love popcorn. I do make sure that I buy Central Market’s organic brand.

 

Saturday Dinner: I didn’t have any dinner on Saturday. All of my meals and my bowl of popcorn were pretty late in the day so I wasn’t hungry.

Sunday Breakfast: Fried organic egg, nitrate free bacon and organic strawberries!

 

Sunday Post Workout Lunch: I LOVE the AdvoCare shakes. If you use coconut milk, they thicken up like milkshakes. I added strawberries and a teaspoon of chia seeds to mine.

 

Sunday Dinner: Here’s the 5-10% of my not eating clean. Neither one of us was in the mood to cook dinner so we went out. As you can see, I had a Corona and some chips and queso. YUM! I was really jonesing for enchilladas but I opted for the stuffed avocado instead. It’s a fresh avocado stuffed with shredded chicken and topped with sour cream and cheese. I peeled off the cheese and ate everything else. I left the beans and rice and then realized I payed out the nose for one avocado.

 

Monday Early Breakfast: Protein powder and coffee.

Monday Late Breakfast: Coffee with coconut milk creamer and a dash of cinnamon, half an avocado, strawberries and chicken and apple sausage. Familiar, no?

 

Monday Lunch: I had breakfast pretty late so I wasn’t hungry for lunch.

Monday Snack: The other half of the avocado. The perfect snack!

 

Monday Dinner: Grilled sirloin, baked sweet potato fries and tossed salad with oil and vinegar dressing.

 

Tuesday Early Breakfast: Protein powder and coffee.

The rest of the day on Tuesday: I had a TON of running around to do on Tuesday to get ready for our trip so I knew that sitting down to eat wasn’t even going to happen. I armed myself with snacks and lots of water to get me through the day. Lara Bars, OsTrim sticks and nuts. Easy to pack up and eat on the go. I wish I could remember what I had for dinner. My guess is that it was probably grilled chicken, salad and a veggie.

 

That’s 5 days of food for you! Easy to prepare and super tasty to eat!

Leave a Reply

