I can’t work out for how long?!

Posted: June 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

There’s nothing quite like an injury to get you discouraged. Right now, I have a few athletes out dealing with injuries and I am trying to keep them motivated and keep them from getting discouraged. Ladies – you know who you are and each one of you is an ATHLETE.

Here’s my take on injuries and if anyone out there has anything to add to it, I’d love to hear it. A few things can happen when you get injured and I think a lot of it depends on where you are at mentally and physically when it happens. First, you get discouraged when you hear you have to take a break from working out. This is particularly hard to hear especially if you are on a roll and are seeing results. A few thoughts that went through my mind when I knew I had to take 8 weeks off and then ease VERY slowly back into training: “I’m going to lose everything that I’ve done.” “I’m going to gain all my weight back.” “I’ll be starting over from square one.” Once that emotion passed, then next one set in: FEAR. “What if the surgery doesn’t work and I can’t ever do CrossFit again?” “What if I hurt myself again?” A couple of things can happen at this stage. You can say screw it. Getting hurt again isn’t worth it so I’m done. The other choice you have is to work through your injury, do everything your doctor says and get back in the game as soon as you can and not let the fear rule you.

I had only been doing CrossFit for 3 months before my knees took me down. Because of the transformation that was happening to me mentally and physically, I made the decision to take whatever measures I needed to in order to get back in the game. My head was in the right place. I still didn’t think of myself as an athlete but I knew I would be one someday and bad knees were not going to stop me.

I am one for pushing the limits. All the time. I think every athlete out there who continues to grow, pushes the limits. I have pushed myself harder than I should have more than once but how else was I supposed to know how far I could go? You can tell me all day long that I won’t ever be able to squat more than 100lbs but until I try to do 105lbs, I don’t believe you. I was born with jacked up knees so I knew exactly what I could and couldn’t do. But now that I was having them fixed – GAME ON. The sky is the limit. I drank the Kool-Aid that is CrossFit and there was no looking back. Those limits were meant to be pushed. The squat rack was screaming my name.

Show me an athlete – any athlete – professional or amateur who hasn’t been injured at least once. My question to you is would you rather be that athlete who got hurt doing something you really enjoy, that is good for you and making you stronger for life or would you rather be that person who was injured because of what they weren’t doing. That person who hurt their back lifting something because of a weak core? How about that person who can’t keep up with their kids because their knees hurt because they haven’t taken care of them? CrossFit isn’t for everyone but there is something out there for everyone. Just get up and move and don’t be afraid to get hurt. If you are taking care of an injury, get your MIND right and get back in the game. Don’t stop working out because of one injury. KEEP MOVING. My 8 weeks of downtime didn’t mean sitting on the couch the entire time. I did upper body work, I rode the bike very slowly and I walked on the treadmill. I kept moving. I showed up 15 minutes early to my personal training sessions so I could get on the rower and get my knees warmed up. The longer you sit out, the harder it is to get back in. As much as my body said NO, my mind said YES, you can do this.

Never forget that you are strong, you are amazing and you can do ANYTHING you put your mind to. So get out there and get you some!

A little snipit from my vision board.

Leave a Reply

