Bring on the fun!

Posted: June 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

As school was coming to an end for my daughter and my son was in his last couple of weeks at his preschool, I started to freak out. What am I going to do with these kids ALL SUMMER LONG and keep my sanity. My time that I had to myself each morning was slowing fading away. I love peace and quiet and it was about to be a thing of the past.

For as long as I can remember, right around the beginning of May, I would wish that I could spend the summer with my kids and not be stuck at work. I think I wished for this so many times and pictured in my mind how awesome it would be that it actually came true. I put it out there and The Universe answered. So here we are. We are through the first week of summer, we are doing ok and I haven’t had to tap into the Xanax. Kidding. I’d be crazy to think that there won’t be extremely challenging days or even just mildly challenging days especially with a 3-year old son and a dramatic 8-year old daughter. Today we put together a calendar of the things we are going to do each week to hopefully lessen those challenging days. We have a brand new library in Kyle so we are going to be heading there twice a week for science time and summer reading group for Kylie and story time for Preston. Once a week Kylie is going to do summer camp at the gym where she is on the gymnastics team. She has team practice twice a week for three hours each day so that takes up two afternoons. The rest of the time will be spent at our neighborhood pool, our backyard with our own big blow up pool and my chaise lounge and trips here and there to places like the Austin Zoo and Zilker Park.

In reality, this calendar is more for me than it is for anyone else. I have a very difficult time separating myself from things that I think need to get done but can really wait from the things that have to get done. Because of this, I find myself having less time to do things that really do matter like spending quality time with my kids and time for myself. The calendar is going to hold me accountable for having a good time! My goal right now is to look back on this summer and say we had a great time and that I can’t wait for next summer.

I moved all of my afternoon classes to early morning so between training others and my own personal training, my days are free after 10am! Yay me! I have no complaints about the way that has turned out. I’ve even adapted pretty well at getting up at 4:15 in the morning. Never thought I’d see that day!

Here’s to an awesome summer! I hope your days are filled with fun too!

Meisha has the right idea!

 

Comments
  1. Mishelle says:

    Yay! I see a summer full of Ritas with me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

