It’s already been a year? That’s just crazy!

A little over a year ago I started on this crazy CrossFit journey. It’s been one helluva ride and we are just getting started.

In December of 2010, I signed up for a 28 day challenge called Strength and Beauty. I signed up in December but wasn’t going to start until March. I had to really think about this one. Up until then, I’d been doing the traditional gym workouts. 3o minutes on the treadmill or elliptical, back and bi’s one day, chest and tri’s another day, legs and abs another day. Throw in some cardio pump classes here and there and that was my story. And it was getting me nowhere. I was also eating a “low carb” that was high in whole grains and I couldn’t figure out why I wasn’t losing any weight.

In February of 2011 I went to a seminar at CrossFit Central called Form3. It was an all day, women only event and my future trainer was one of the speakers along with Carey Kepler, co-owner of CrossFit Central and Crystal Nelson, the creator of Fuel-21. It was awesome, so inspiring and empowering. I learned about the paleo lifestyle, had a great paleo lunch, set some awesome goals and started on my vision board. I also did my first ever CrossFit WOD. I had to ask what WOD stood for. All day long I was trying to decode it. Warrior of death is what I had decided on. Workout of the day is what it actually is. I remember it like it was yesterday. I was the ONLY person in the group who had never done one before and it was a partner WOD. Flashbacks of getting picked last raced through my mind. Then I realized how different this sport is. Everyone is in it together and to help each other. The WOD was 4 rounds, 30 ring rows, 30 wall ball squats, 30 kettle bell swings and 200 meter run. Holy balls. I have no idea how to pace my when it comes to first time workouts. I went out 100% and just about killed myself but I did it! Two days later, my right elbow was so freaking sore and swollen that I could barely move it. Lesson learned!

Fast forward to March 1st. I had my first meeting and workout with my trainer, Jessica Stephens. I was so terrified that I almost had a panic attack. I did a fitness test on various things like pull ups, push ups, sit ups, etc. so that I’d have a benchmark to go from and remeasure in 28 days. Guess what? No pacing happened. Once again I blew up my elbow and this time ended up in physical therapy for a month. That month that I spent training with Jessica was so awesome and seriously life changing. After my 28 day challenge was up, I signed on for personal training sessions with her. We met once a week and she continued to kick my ass and I became more and more excited about what I was doing. For the next six months I continued training with Jessica and it became crystal clear to me that I had figured out what I was meant to do. I was changing my life so that I could help other people change their lives.

In October I started a boot camp with a few very trusting friends. Marisa, Megan and Erika were my test subjects. I didn’t kill them and they kept coming back! I was on to something. I decided that I was going to quit my corporate job in June of 2012 because that would give me enough time to build out my garage, build up my client list and get certified. I had to have time to get it all planned out. Well, the Universe said “I don’t think so.” and I was laid off in November. Hey! No time the present to get things going!

Flash forward to now. My garage is kick-ass, I have a rapidly growing client list and I’m still amazed that I’m am actually doing this. I’m leaner and stronger than I have ever been and I’m only getting better! I created my own 6-week challenge that is into it’s 2nd week and I can’t wait to see my client’s results. Things are happening for me and it blows my mind. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve always wanted to own my own business. This is it! Bring it on! If you can dream it, you can make it happen.

2 thoughts on “It’s already been a year? That’s just crazy!

  1. I’m so proud of you! Isn’t following your dreams amazing?
    Someday soon I’m going to let you kick my butt. I’ve been working out since Nov., but I think I need to take it to the next level.

    Way to go Wendy!

Leave a Reply

