“Well Fed” is here!

Posted: February 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

My long awaited copy of “Well Fed” arrived last Friday and it is by far the best paleo cookbook I have come across. It is a full-on, no messing around, paleo love fest. Melissa Joulwan got it right! She is also a local Austinite so she scores extra points for that. My favorite thing about the cookbook is that you are given step by step instructions on how to prep all of your veggies, cook your meat and plan your meals for the entire week. I went over all the recipes on Saturday, made my menu for the week, wrote out my grocery list and hit the store on Sunday. I ended up spending less than I normally do, bought only exactly what I needed minus the chicken. I stocked up awhile back so I was good to go.

Everything that I made during the week reheated perfectly. I have training twice a week that runs until about 6:30 so Sean heats up dinner when he gets home. I’ve linked the recipes that she has on her site. You’ll have to buy the cookbook to get all the rest! My menu for the week was this:

Monday
Best Ever Chicken – it was pretty dang good. You brine it for a couple of hours before grilling so it’s super tender. You can brine it on Sunday, take it out of brine, wrap it up in plastic and it will keep in the fridge for a couple of days before you need to grill it.
Coconut almond green beans. In the description of the recipe she says, “Trust me. Make a double batch.” I didn’t believe her but I should have. These were AWESOME.

Tuesday
I love Chinese and Thai food more than anything. Tuesday was my birthday and there just happened to be a couple of recipes for both of these! Bam! Happy birthday to me! I have to say we blew this paleo meal by having cupcakes from Delish and a key lime pie from Central Market. The strawberry champagne cupcakes were crazy good. Totally worth it.
Pad Thai – made with spaghetti squash noodles and almond butter. I’ve made it twice this week. It’s that good and that easy.
Char Siu (Chinese BBQ Pork) – AH-mazing. I couldn’t find a 4lb boneless pork shoulder so I used pork for carnitas. Super tender. I did add a little bit of honey to the bbq sauce to sweeten it up.

Wednesday
Leftover Char Siu and BBQ Pork Fried Rice. The rice is actually cauliflower that has been chopped up in the food processor to the consistency of rice. My kids went crazy over it! Score!

Thursday
BIG leftover night. I’m pretty amazed at how much food we ended up with and how it all still tastes really good. We had pad thai (batch #2), spaghetti squash with leftover marinara and garlic ground beef, fried “rice”, big salad and avocado.

Friday
My plan was to make Stovetop Carnitas but we still have food! I may save it for Sunday.

Here’s what I did to prepare for the week. My main goal was to make food that Sean could take for lunch every day this week. I can eat pretty much the same thing every day but he needs more variety. I grilled seasoned chicken thighs, browned two pounds of garlic ground beef, roasted a spaghetti squash and made 8 Scotch Eggs. Scotch eggs are crazy! The recipe for the eggs in the cookbook is slightly different than the one online but I’m sure it tastes awesome. It’s a hard boiled egg wrapped in sausage, rolled in egg and crushed up pork rinds and then baked in the oven. Sounds so weird but they are so good!

I could have done more prep work than I did to get ready for the week but I was happy with all that I accomplished. All of the food has been so good and there isn’t a recipe that I won’t make a second time. That’s pretty rare! My family ate everything and my kids even asked for seconds. I’m excited to try everything in the book and on her website.

That’s my menu recap for the week! I highly recommend “Well Fed” and you can download a PDF sampler. Check it out! Happy eating!

Comments
  1. This post just about made my heart sing. I’m so glad Well Fed is making so many appearances in your kitchen — and thrilled to have been part of your birthday celebration. I wholeheartedly endorse eating a “clean” meal so you can have cupcakes for a bday celebration. That’s exactly how I would do it, too 🙂

    Thanks for your sweet words. Really glad you’re enjoying Well Fed!

Leave a Reply

