The good, the bad and the reality.

Posted: February 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

Let’s just start with the bad and get it out of the way. I fell of the good nutrition wagon and landed smack dab in the middle of a taco trailer. One breakfast taco was all it took and it was all over. It actually wasn’t that bad. It just felt like it. A couple of tortillas, couple of cookies, an onion ring and 3 beers. But that was all it took for me to feel like I had been hit by a truck and my mood was taken over by my evil twin.

It gets better. About a month ago I made some awesome sauteed cabbage. I love cabbage but I found out the next day that my body hates it. I’m really sensitive to night shades – tomatoes, potatoes, peppers, spinach and eggplant – so I stay away from most of them. They can cause lectin deposits in the tissue that surrounds joints. They make my joints hurt like there’s no tomorrow. Tomatoes and spinach are the biggest offenders for me. I think I would just stop eating all together if I had to get rid of sweet potatoes and peppers. Turns out that cabbage, broccoli and cauliflower are in a class of vegetables from the Brassica family and they cause the same problems as nightshades. I decided to experiment with some purple cabbage. I think purple food is the coolest thing ever. Bad idea. Very bad but it tasted so good. I roasted some in the oven with sea salt and coconut oil. Delicious. Unfortunately it affected me worse than the green cabbage. I had terrible leg cramps during the night and I could barely move when I woke up. I had sharp shooting pains in my arms and wrists the entire next day. It took me a few days to recover from that. So far, broccoli and cauliflower don’t affect me the same way. I hope it stays that way.

While my body is revolting against the things I put into it, it’s also freaking out because of what I’m not putting into it. At least, I think that’s what is going on. Nutrition and exercise combined are one big experiment for me. Lately, after a couple of really hard workouts, I’ve almost hit the floor from being really lightheaded. It usually happens a couple of hours after. The first time it happened, I figured it was from lack of food after my workout. My recovery time is taking a lot longer as well. I know I’m working out harder so I’ll be sorer than I’m used to but I feel like it’s taking too long to get back to myself. I increased my protein intake immediately after my workouts and that worked pretty well for awhile. I started taking Vitamin D and fish oil regularly along with amino acids. But now it’s starting up again so I’m switching things up. More protein and amino acid before my workout and a protein shake after. Hopefully that will work. Fingers crossed.

My training over the last couple of weeks has really suffered during all of this. It’s been so bad that I haven’t even kept track of it because it has just sucked. I know that the next time I do any of those workouts again, they will be better than the last. I’m ready to start feeling like myself again so I can start hitting it hard.

On to the good! My daughter’s school is having a 5k and health and fitness fair on March 3rd so I signed up to have a booth. I’m pretty excited about it. There are quite a few of us in our neighborhood who are trainers of one type or another so it will be pretty cool to have us all in one place. Our community out here is huge so the more information we can get out to everyone on all of their options on leading a healthy life, the better! I’m putting together a 6-week challenge as one of my programs that I offer. It’s going to be awesome!

More good stuff! I turned my Wednesday boot camp into a group workout class. Woop! I’m very excited about being able to use my garage for full on classes. I can’t wait to see the progress my ladies make by taking their training to the next level.

I finally got my copy of “Well Fed” and I cannot wait to try the recipes. This week I have been using “Everyday Paleo” as my cookbook and so far it has been really good. I’ll post a recap of this week’s food in my next blog post. My crock pot is my new best friend – when I remember to put things in it. Minor detail.

The reality is that things are going to happen to knock you off course but you have the choice to get back on. I’ve had two weeks from hell both mentally and physically but I’m over it. I realized that I can’t eat breakfast tacos and drink beer and function like I want to these days. Maybe the old me but not the me I am now. I’m not giving it 100% if I feel like I’m only 10%.

Check out this killer purple broccoli! I can’t wait to eat it. Power to the purple food!

Leave a Reply

