What’s for dinner?

Posted: January 31, 2012 in Recipes

That is the question that gives me the most pain. I mean, we eat meat, fish, veggies and fruit. How hard can it be to come up with a new and exciting dinner each and every night that your family will love? Especially your kids. When we (me) decided to go Paleo, I got some moans and groans from the family but they eventually came around. Milk had already been cut out because of my son’s eczema so that was an easy one. We are by no means at 100% hard-core Paleo family. My kids still eat pizza at school every Friday and the occasional Sunday when we realize it’s 5pm and we haven’t even thought about dinner. Mac n cheese is still in our pantry. Organic of course. I can say that they do know that the reason we eat the way we do is because it is healthy and good for our bodies. When they see a McDonald’s commercial they say, “Ewww.” I love that. Because my kids were my hardest converts, I make dinner exciting for them. The look on their faces when I handed them tacos in lettuce leaves was priceless. After I told them that they were still crunchy without being greasy and they could eat even more, they were sold. I am still trying to find organic corn tortillas. I know corn is a grain but sometimes you just have to have a real taco. My daughter loves to have dinner parties so candles and low light always make food more exciting!

Here’s what we are having for dinner this week if everything goes as planned. Maybe you all can take away some of these recipes and try them out.

Monday
I made pulled pork in the crock pot about a month ago and ended up with a ton of it so I froze half the batch. It was so easy. I always thought pulled pork was this huge undertaking. Get a pork roast, butt or shoulder – it doesn’t matter. Poke a bunch of holes in it. Stuff the holes with garlic cloves. Put it in the crock pot with a couple of cups of chicken stock. Cook on low for 8-10 hours. Shred and eat. Easy peasy. I defrosted it tonight and we had carnitas. I used big lettuce leaves for the shells and topped the pork with avocado, onion, cilantro and pineapple. So delicious but I should have eaten a lot more because now I am starving. Time for a snack.

Tuesday
I have some really nice t-bone steaks that are begging to be grilled. I’ll pair them with some roasted veggies. Probably zucchini, red onion, red bell pepper, sweet potatoes and broccoli. This is super easy too. Crank your oven up to about 425. Slice your veggies, toss with some olive oil and sea salt. Roast for about 30 minutes or until they have a nice little char on them. Tasty. I always make a ton of these because they are really good the next day on a tossed salad.

Wednesday
Crock pot lemon chicken from my favorite site – The Food Lovers’ Primal Palate. I’ve never made this before but it looks delicious. I’m thinking some cauliflower mashers would be awesome with this. These are also so easy. Cut up your cauliflower into small pieces. Put it in a pot of water and bring it to a boil. Boil until pieces are tender. While this is happening, clarify about 2tbs of butter. To do this all you need to do is melt the butter and when the foam from the butter forms, spoon it out and you are left with amazing clarified butter. Add in a clove of minced garlic and about 1/3 cup of coconut milk to the butter. Make sure your coconut milk is from the can and not the carton. The carton stuff is still good but it has water added to it so you will end up with runny mashers. Bring this to a boil, reduce to a simmer for about 5 minutes. Drain the cauliflower and and put into your food processor. Blend until smooth and then add your coconut milk/butter/garlic awesomeness in small amounts at a time. Blend until you get the consistency you like. Season with salt and pepper. These are so good that my kids eat them knowing it’s cauliflower.

Thursday
I’m counting on having some left over chicken so it will either be tacos or maybe some chicken soup. I think a cold front is coming through so I’ll probably go with the soup. Homemade chicken soup is extremely easy. Noticing a trend? Dice up an onion, a couple of carrots and some celery. Saute it in a little bit of coconut oil until the onions begin to soften. Add in 4-6 cups of chicken stock and shredded or cubed chicken from the night before. Simmer and season as needed. Depending on how much salt your stock has, you’ll probably need to add some salt and pepper for sure. A bay leaf will add some nice flavor too. Just make sure to take it out before you serve your soup. I’ve heard eating one of those can be bad news.

Friday
Open faced grass-fed burgers on a portabello bun. This recipe calls for turkey but I’m a bigger fan of beef. YUM. I may even add some bacon to this. Oven baked sweet potato fries for a side.

If you are craving something sweet, here’s a really tasty recipe for Paleo banana bread. I’ve made it several times and it is so good!

That’s it for now. Happy eating!

 

Comments
  1. Awesome menu Wendy! Not unlike my own. It’s amazing how good carnitas over scrambled eggs can be…..topped with green chili salsa!! that’s my breakfast today….

  2. Michelle says:

    Excellent! Your meal planning sounds a lot like mine. Decide a couple of main meats I’m hungry for….and pair with a lot of grilled or sauteed veggies. Two or three main entrees last me all week for lunch and dinner (yes, I’m only cooking for 1). But it’s so easy to cook Paleo. The crock pot is my BFF….and makes cooking a roast, chicken, or even making homemade stock so easy.

    I had buffalo chicken drumsticks (crock pot) on Sunday (with leftovers for dinner Wed). Monday, I had grass-fed steak with sauteed mushrooms, baby spinach, and fresh green beans w/ onion and bacon. Tuesday I had grilled shrimp basted with leftover buffalo sauce (from Sunday) with a spinach salad. Tonight is leftover chicken with grilled asparagus and mushrooms. Thursday is jalapeno sausage with braised red cabbage. Lunch is always dinner leftovers or a huge salad.

  3. Sean Wray says:

    Look how good I get to eat! So far all of it’s been great! I love that it’s easy stuff for me to take to work too. We’re saving a ton money by eating like this. I’m really looking forward to the burgers on the mushroom ‘bun’. Wendy thanks for feeding me so well. I’m grateful that you have REALLY jumped in on all of this. You are an inspiration… a great, beautiful (inside and out) tough woman!

Leave a Reply

