Welcome to my blog!

Posted: January 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

Hi everyone! Welcome to my blog! My goal is to give you a look into my world and hopefully I can provide you with information or inspiration that you can use. Things that will be featured here are everything CrossFit related, Paleo recipes and lifestyle, lots of stuff on getting and keeping your family healthy, cool products that I’ve found that make my life easier and my biggest fans – my husband and kids.

Here’s a little about me. I am a Level 1 Certified CrossFit Coach, a personal trainer, an athlete, a mom to two kids, a wife and I am about to turn 43. I think mentioning age is important because you are NEVER too old to start something new. I found CrossFit in March of 2011 and instantly I was hooked. I owe so much of it to my awesome coach, Jessica Sharratt-Stephen. She gave me the support I needed while still kicking my butt. In the past when I looked at athletes, I wished I could be like them, run or lift like them and look like them. I did not grow up playing any organized sports so I was not an athletic kid. In the last 15 years or so, I have tried running, triathlons, softball and working out in the traditional gym. Between getting bored, not really knowing what I was doing and messed up knees, I would stop before I could really get into it or see any results. You could say that I am a late bloomer with this whole athletic/fitness thing. Now, I am that person that I always wanted to be. I just didn’t know how to get there. I was so amazed at this transformation that I was going through that it was all I could (and still do) talk about. I just knew people were saying to themselves, “Here she goes again about that CrossFit thing.” That’s when I decided that I wanted to bring what I had learned to anyone that would trust me as their trainer. I’ve known since I was a kid that I was meant to change lives and I had found my calling. I started a boot camp with a few friends of mine in October to test the waters. It was a huge hit! I made big plans to quit my job as a production artist with a very large semi-conductor company in June of 2012 to pursue personal training full-time. My position with said company was cut as part of cost-cutting measures in November so I decided no time like the present. I believe The Universe thought June was too long for me to wait. I began offering personal training sessions and three of my boot campers signed on. I can’t thank them enough for their trust in me.

I dream of owning my own CrossFit box. Until that happens, we have our own garage gym right out our back door. We converted our garage into a gym and we are slowly adding equipment. The beauty of CrossFit is that you don’t need a bunch of machines – you won’t find any treadmills or stair steppers in a CrossFit box. You will find barbells, kettlebells, pull-up bars and a whole bunch of chalk. It’s down and dirty and the best workout of your life.

Here’s to living the dream! Be very careful about what you put out there and wish for because you will get it!

Comments
  1. mcpheecobb says:

    So excited for you! Blog looks great.

  2. Michelle says:

    Woo hoo! It’s never too late to get fit. Can’t wait to have you kick my butt one day soon.

Leave a Reply

