A most awesome dinner.

Posted: July 22, 2012 in Family Stuff, Recipes

I’ve been craving something light and fresh lately and salad just wasn’t cutting it and I also wanted soup. Hot soup – not a chilled soup. Not exactly the most appetizing thing to eat when it is 100 degrees outside but I was determined. Imagine my surprise when I came across a recipe for asparagus soup! My two FAVORITE things combined into one. Heaven! It was so easy to make and it was this beautiful bright green color that I felt healthy just looking at it. I was trying to come up with something that would go with it because asparagus soup alone just wasn’t going to cut it even if it did have bacon in it. Chicken sounded good but that meant defrosting and turning on the grill and going outside and getting hot. My next favorite food is chicken salad and I happened to have a rotisserie chicken in the fridge waiting to be made into chicken salad. One of the many great things about chicken salad is that it has celery in it. My kids love to help me cook and it takes a REALLY LONG TIME to chop celery with butter knives. It’s a great time killer for kids. SCORE!

What could be better than a light and healthy dinner? Light and healthy dessert! Woop! I love peaches. What goes great with peaches? Cobbler of course! Hmm – flour, milk, tons of sugar doesn’t really equal light and healthy. I went on the search for a paleo peach cobbler recipe. I thought it was going to be impossible but I found one and it is AWESOME. It uses a combination of coconut and almond flour for the batter and it came out light and fluffy with a great flavor. Top it with vanilla coconut ice cream and you have one amazing dessert.

Here’s the menu. Rotisserie chicken salad with home made mayo (this is a KEY ingredient). Mixed green salad tossed with olive oil and basalmic vinegar. Sliced avocado. Asparagus soup garnished with bacon and chives. Paleo peach and blueberry cobbler with vanilla coconut ice cream. Recipes follow the pictures. Try them and enjoy!

Close up of the awesome soup.

Recipes:

Home made mayo

Asparagus soup

Paleo cobbler – I sprinkled coconut palm sugar on the top of mine before baking to give it a little bit sweeter flavor to the topping.

Chicken Salad
1 rotisserie chicken diced
4 stalks of celery diced
1/4 cup diced onion
1/4 – 1/2 cup home made mayo (depends on how creamy you like it)
2 – 4 tbsp dijon mustard (depends on your taste)
1/4 cup dill relish (make sure to find one that does not have high fructose corn syrup)
salt and pepper to taste

Put it all in one big bowl and stir gently. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

